top of page

Hhshirt - I bet my soul smells like horses 2023 shirt

Across 23 sprawling tracks, SZA’s songwriting effortlessly encapsulates the I bet my soul smells like horses 2023 shirt in addition I really love this sting of her fury and the softest spot of her tenderness “Blind,” a song filled with lines that sound too succulent to be reduced to a track that’s fewer than three minutes long, is the apex of that lyrical style. In one verse she assures “you ain’t getting your bitch back” only to echo her embarrassment on going back to a past lover in another. Backed by acoustic guitar and viola, it’s a stellar revelatory moment that possesses the lyrical arrangement fit for a ballad. On the cinematic thriller “Kill Bill,” SZA explicitly divulges her desire to kill her ex and his girlfriend while acknowledging that her actions surprisingly stem from love (“I still love him though/Rather be in hell than alone,” she sings in the closing verse). If CTRL was about seeking answers for why she’s insecure, SOS is about embracing those insecurities and reeling from the consequences of them.



To further delineate that theme, she wafts through different genres as if she’s a best-selling artist in each of them. Perhaps she already is. Prior to the I bet my soul smells like horses 2023 shirt in addition I really love this album’s release, she said, “It’s very lazy to just throw me in the box of R&B. I love making Black music, period. Something that is just full of energy. Black music doesn’t have to just be R&B. We started rock ‘n’ roll. Why can’t we just be expansive and not reductive?” The experimental layers of SOS position SZA as a seasoned stylist who’s as interested in her artistic growth as she is in her emotional growth. She unleashes a rap tirade against her exes on “Smoking on My Ex Pack,” collaborates with Phoebe Bridgers on an indie pop quest for validation on “Ghost in the Machine,” relishes in the punk-tinged joy of rebound sex on “F2F,” and croons about needing her ex on the folk ballad “Nobody Gets Me.”


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page